Zpack Arc Haul Zip 64L backpack review

Hike on Iceland with Zpack Arc Haul Zip

A very comfortable super lightweight backpack for multi-day hikes, backpacking and daypack

I purchased the Zpack Arc Haul Zip 64L backpack second hand (as new) at eBay after reading countless reviews. I have since then used this backpack for aprox 70 hiking days. There are many in-depths reviews for details, here are my options and some remarks that I see missing in most reviews. Please take into account that these are my subjective comments, and that people see issues different 🙂 . Overall this is now my prefered backpack when weight is an issue.

Zpack Arc Haul Zip mas daypack fishing in South Korea

For me the backpack volume (64 l) is sufficient for a Norway multi-day fishing hike where I bring tent, sleeping bag, clothes for weather from 5 to 30 degrees, gas burner/cooking pot and flyfishing gears including waders and wading shoes. Without food my fully loaded Arc Haul weights around 13 kg (of these aprox 2,3 kg due to waders/shoes).

Due to the low weight and flexibility, it is also my combined backpacker and city daypack for travels. I can leave some of my stuff in the Airplane Case (94g) and use the Arc Haul as daypack.

My Arch Haul medium size frame itself weights 0,728 kg with the following: Stick-On Key Zip Pouch, V Top Strap, 2 x Top Side Pockets, and Lumbar Pad.

The photo below compares 3 different backpacks for the same 3 day hike J (the Zpack at left side). The person at photo is not the author.

3 differnet backpacks for same hike

Pros and cons

Strong points:

  • Lightweight. At travels, its my backpacking and daypack. That is I only bring the Arc Haul instead of one big and one small backpack
  • I also recommend the optional Airplane Case (weighted to 94g) that doubles as a liner and/or an extra bag when travelling
  • Very comfortable for loads up to 16 kg (my load for a 4 day fishing hike), better at my back than my Osprey Exos 58
  • Customable with a lot of add-ons (but expensive)
  • Flexed Arc Frame that really enables air circulation at back
  • Waterproof with taped seams and roll-top, although I pack clothes and sleeping bag in waterproof liner anyway

Weak points:

  • The horizontal carbon internal frame rods and sleeves are a weak points (see below)
  • Expensive
  • Somewhat complicated set-up with a lot of straps
  • When fully loaded it can be difficult to keep the mesh back panel arc for ventilation

Carbon frame rods problems on my Arc Haul

Carbon pole

Imo the sleeves for the horizontal upper rod are to shallow. The upper rod on my backpack has on many occasions falled out on from the sleeve at one side (see photo), and become frayed at the end. On my recent backpack travel at South-Korea I had to cut away 1 cm from one end, superglue, tape to protect and realign rod.

Backpacking in Korea

Straps set-up at top

There are 3 places at each side of top for fastening straps. I have used the configuration shown in the Zpack adjustment video, with outer for load lifters and frame adjustment, and inner for the top V-strap. I tried using the inner for load lifters, but the carrying was for me less comfortable.

Zpack as fishing daypack

Published by alfsollund

Amateur photographer

One thought on “Zpack Arc Haul Zip 64L backpack review

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started